Warning: timezone_open(): Unknown or bad timezone (Europa/Berlin) in /homepages/2/d241346318/htdocs/wp/wp-includes/functions.php on line 125

Warning: date_create() expects parameter 2 to be DateTimeZone, boolean given in /homepages/2/d241346318/htdocs/wp/wp-includes/functions.php on line 126

Warning: date_format() expects parameter 1 to be DateTimeInterface, boolean given in /homepages/2/d241346318/htdocs/wp/wp-includes/functions.php on line 129

Warning: timezone_open(): Unknown or bad timezone (Europa/Berlin) in /homepages/2/d241346318/htdocs/wp/wp-includes/functions.php on line 125

Warning: date_create() expects parameter 2 to be DateTimeZone, boolean given in /homepages/2/d241346318/htdocs/wp/wp-includes/functions.php on line 126

Warning: date_format() expects parameter 1 to be DateTimeInterface, boolean given in /homepages/2/d241346318/htdocs/wp/wp-includes/functions.php on line 129

Warning: timezone_open(): Unknown or bad timezone (Europa/Berlin) in /homepages/2/d241346318/htdocs/wp/wp-includes/functions.php on line 125

Warning: date_create() expects parameter 2 to be DateTimeZone, boolean given in /homepages/2/d241346318/htdocs/wp/wp-includes/functions.php on line 126

Warning: date_format() expects parameter 1 to be DateTimeInterface, boolean given in /homepages/2/d241346318/htdocs/wp/wp-includes/functions.php on line 129

Warning: timezone_open(): Unknown or bad timezone (Europa/Berlin) in /homepages/2/d241346318/htdocs/wp/wp-includes/functions.php on line 125

Warning: date_create() expects parameter 2 to be DateTimeZone, boolean given in /homepages/2/d241346318/htdocs/wp/wp-includes/functions.php on line 126

Warning: date_format() expects parameter 1 to be DateTimeInterface, boolean given in /homepages/2/d241346318/htdocs/wp/wp-includes/functions.php on line 129

60h Practitioner Training

March 2nd – 18th 2018
At YogaOne Barcelona

Registriere Dich für das 2018 60h Practitioner Training in Barcelona! Lege ein solides Fundament für Deine Self Practice und bereite den Weg für Deine weitere Reise in die Praxis wie zum Beispiel das kommende 200h Teacher Training.

Kalari Beginners Weekend Retreat

04. – 06. Mai
Bei Solhalla nahe Götheburg

Schließe dich Kai Hitzer an für ein Einführungswochenende inmitten eines skandinavischen Paradises. Der traumhaft gelegene Solhalla Retreat befindet sich eine Stunde nördlich von Götheburg an den Ufern von Stora Hällungen. Solhalla bietet des perfekte Setting für ein tiefes eintauchen in die Praxis.

Kalari.org

Wenn der Körper zu Augen wird

Der beste Weg in die Kalari Praxis

Von der bloßen Existenz von Kalarippayat, Kalaripayattu oder einfach Kalari an sich zu erfahren, kann schon eine Herausforderung für sich sein. Und so verbringen viele Kampfkünstler, Bewegungskünstler, Tänzer und Yogis manchmal ihr ganzes Leben, ohne jemals von der...

Willkommen auf dem Kalari Mura Blog

Ich erinnere mich noch wie heute an den Moment, als ich das erste mal Kalari mit eigenen Augen sah, und allein das Zuschauen hatte mein Leben für immer verändert. Kalarippayat, Kalaripayattu oder kurz Kalari, die brachiale psychophysische Praxis, in die ich mich 2004...

Tage

Plätze

Stunden

Kalari.org 60h Practitioner Training

Werde einer der ersten zertifizierten Kalarippayat Practitioner und ein Botschafter der Praxis.

In die Grube | Kalari bedeutet Raum oder Arena auf Malayalam, der Landessprache Keralas. Die Kalaris des Nördlichen Stils sind mit einfachen Palmenblattdächern bedeckte Gruben, die seit Menschen gedenken in die rote Erde Süd Indiens gegraben wurden. 42 mal 21 Fuß und in strikter Ost-West Ausrichtung, der Eingang dreieinhalb Stufen hinab auf der Ostseite, eine uralte Ode an die Kundalini – das, was „in der Grube lebt“.

Der Kalari Weg | Kalarippayat war ein Lebensweg, „Kalari Mura“. Jedes 6-8 Jahre alte Kind wurde während der jährlichen Regenzeit initiiert, unabhängig von Geschlecht, Kaste, oder Religion. Diese uralte Tradition endete, als Kalarippayat von den Briten 1793 verboten wurde. Viel Wissen ging in der Folgezeit verloren, aber die Kunst wurde von einigen Lehrern, die sich dem Verbot widersetzten, im Geheimen weiter praktiziert.

Indiens Geschenenk an die Welt | Ihre Unbeugsamkeit sicherte das Überleben der Kunst, und Kalarippayat hat begonnen, seinen Platz in der wieder erwachten südindischen Identität einzunehmen. In allen Teilen Keralas und darüber hinaus wird praktiziert. Kalarippayat erfreut sich stetig wachsender Anerkennung und Aufmerksamkeit und hat damit begonnen seinen rechtmäßigen Platz an der Seite seiner Schwesterwissenschaften Ayurveda und Yoga als eins von Indiens Geschenken an die Welt einzunehmen.

Urbewegung | Kalari stellt die Praxis archetypischer Bewegungsprinzipien und primärer Ganzkörperbewegungen über das repetitive üben isolierter Techniken. Diese Bewegungen können instinktiv abgerufen werden in Situationen, in denen Furcht oder Adrenalin eine trainierte Reaktion fast unmöglich machen. Die Kalari Großmeister haben diesen Prozess als „das Reptiliengehirn trainieren“ beschrieben.

Sehnenstärke | Die Kalari Praxis setzt den Übenden einem einzigartigen und vielseitigen Trainingsregime aus. Intensität ist verpflichtend im Kalarippayat. Allerdings skaliert die Praxis dabei nach dem Praktizierenden, nicht umgekehrt. Körperlich fördert und betont die Praxis Sehnenstärke anstelle reiner Muskelstärke. Der so trainierte Körper ist schlank, stark und baut weniger schnell ab im Alter.

Sinnesentwicklung | Das Konzept primärer Bewegung und Sehnenstärke geht Hand in Hand mit einer starken Entwicklung der Sinne. Kalari Praktizierende lernen ihre Sinneswahrnehmung auszudehnen. Den Beginn bilden dabei die groben physischen Sinne, insbesondere Sicht und Gehöhr, doch mit der Zeit geht es um das Spüren und Lokalisieren von Prana oder Lebensenergie. Der erfahrene Abhyassi wird beginnen den Fluss der Energie zu spüren, erst in sich selbst und später in der Welt und den Menschen, die ihn umgeben.

Weg des Kriegers | Kalari wurde als Kunst des Krieges und der Heilung geschaffen. Diese Verständnis ist wichtig, um zu verstehen, warum die Praxis so wertvoll für uns heute ist: Sie wurde kreiert für Menschen, die Verantwortung für die Menschen und die Welt um sie herum übernehmen mussten. Gleichzeitig vervollständigt Kalari das uralte Dreigestirn aus Mystik (z.B. Yoga), Heilkunst (z.B. Ayurveda) und Kampfkunst.

Kunst zu leben | Kalari kann uns lehren zu leben. Es lehrt, wie man jedem Moment mit offenen Augen, Haltung und Standhaftigkeit begegnet. Das macht Kalari zum perfekten Fundament für ein selbstbestimmtest Leben in der modernen Welt. Kalari wird es diesem Grund zu einem bevorzugten Mittel der persönlichen Entwicklung und des Wachstums für Privatleute, Athlethen und Berufstätige verschiedenster Branchen.

Persönliches Wachstum | Persönliches Wachstum | Die Praxis stellt ein einzigartiges phsychophysisches Feld. Es ermöglicht, reale Situationen physisch zu erfahren, z.B. die Konfrontation mit einem Kollegen, und adäquat zu (re-) agieren. Das kann z.B. bedeuten standhaft zu bleiben, loslassen oder einfach voll in den Moment zu gehen. Die Entscheidung liegt bei uns und wird nicht von externen Faktoren oder mangelnder Impulskontrolle beeinflusst. Das Ergebnis sind wahre Selbststärkung und Freiheit.

Finde Dein Training

Kalari.org bietet eine Vielzahl von Kursen und Trainingsformaten an sowohl online als auch an verschiedensten Orten weltweit. Unser Angebot umfasst Onlineklassen, Workshops und Retreats für Anfänger, Trainings für angehende Practitioner und Lehrer sowie hoch individuelles Einzel- oder Gruppen Training.

Trainingsarten

Unten findest Du einen Überblick über die Trainingsformate von Kalari.org. Bitte beachte, dass Buchungen grundsätzlich auf den verlinkten Seiten der jeweiligen Studios stattfinden, die Du weiter unten bei Trainingstermine findest.

Kalari.ORG 5-Wochen online Kurs

Der Kalari.org 5-Wochen Online Kurs dient als risikofreie und flexible Einführung in die Kalarippayat Praxis. Bestimme dein Tempo und arbeite dich durch  5 kompakte und verständliche Unterrichtseinheiten, die dich mit den wichtigsten Prinzipien und einigen der wichtigsten Grundübungen vertraut machen:

  • Cheruthozil: Auswahl grundlegender Aufwärmübungen
  • Groundwork: Auswahl grundlegender Bodenübungen
  • Vadivu: Pferdestellung (bewegt und statisch)
  • Kalugal: Nere Kal (Gerader Fußschwung)
  • Rhythmus und Fluss der Praxis

>> mehr

Workshops

Workshops sind lokale Kurse mit einer Dauer von 1-3 Tagen.

Die Teilnahmevoraussetzungen variieren je nach Thema und werden explizit in der Beschreibung des Workshops genannt. Workshops für Anfänger haben keine Teilnahmevoraussetzungen.

>> Termine

Retreats

Retreats sind lokale Kurse mit einer Dauer von 3-10 Tagen und führen dich in der Regel an wunderschöne und inspirierende Orte, die ein tiefes Eintauchen in die Praxis ermöglichen, wie z.B. Human Posture in Norddeutschland oder Solhälla in Schweden.

Die Teilnahmevorassetzung variieren je nach Thema und werden in der Beschreibung des Retreats ausdrücklich genannt. Der regelmäßig stattfindende Beginners Weekend Retreat hat keine Teilnhamevoraussetzungen, die Teilnahme am 5-Wochen Online Kurs ist aber in jedem Fall eine optimale Vorbereitung.

>> Termine

Kalari.org 60h Practitioner Training

Das Kalari.org 60h Practitioner Training dient vor allen Dingen dazu, eine grundsolide eigene Praxis zu etablieren und Dich zu einem echten Abhyassi zu machen. Gleichzeitig ist sie der Türöffner für alle Klassen und weiterführenden Workshops, Retreats oder Intensives. Es ist außerdem die Voraussetzung für die Teilnahme am zukünftigen Lvl I Teacher Training.

Die Voraussetzung für die Teilnahme am Practitioner Training ist die Teilnahme an mindestens einem der folgenden Trainings oder eine vergleichbare Vorbildung. Die Entscheidung über die Eignung deiner Vorbildung liegt bei Kalari.org:

  • Kalari.org 5-Week Online Course
  • Kalari Introductory Workshop
  • Kalari Beginner’s Weekend Retreat

Das Curriculum des Practitioner Trainings führt dich durch alle Grundlagen, die ein Kalari Abhyassi beherrschen muss:

  • Cheruthozil: Auswahl grundlegender Aufwärmübungen
  • Vadivu: Auswahl grundlegende Tierstellungen
  • Kalugal: Die grundlegenden Fußschwünge
  • Meithozhil: Puthara & Kalari Vandanam
  • Meithozhil: Meippayat – Arapukai I
  • Meithozhil: Kaikuttippayat – Pilaitangi I
  • Kolthari: Langstock I
  • Kurze Einführung in die Geschichte des Kalarippayat
  • Kurze Einführung in die psychophysischen Prinzipien

>> mehr

Kalari.org 200h Teacher Lvl I Training

Das erste Kalari.org 200h Teacher Lvl I Training findet ab 2018 an zwei Orten statt: Das Kalari.org Headquarter in Norddeutschland und YogaOne in Barcelona. Das Teacher Training wird eine transformative Reise von 12 Monaten, an deren Ende du einer der ersten zertifizierten Lehrer der uralten Kunst des Kalarippayats im Westen sein wirst.

…aber bevor es schließlich soweit ist, werden deine Technik und deine Kondition an die Grenze geführt, um die Fesseln des rationalen Verstandes zu brechen und wahre Bewegung zu erleben. Du wirst neue Body Forms lernen und neue Waffen Formen, einschließlich der Lehrerseite der ersten Lang- und Kurzstock Form. Wir werden dann den Bereich der physischen Technik verlassen und verbale Lehrmethodik, Body Scanning, Skalieren und individuelles Korrigieren behandeln. Das Fundament des Nadi-Marma Systems wird behandelt. Wie von der Kalari.org Tradition vorgeschrieben wirst Du ab einer gewissen Reife jenseits der Nördlichen Stils schauen und in die ersten Übungen des Südlichen Stils des Kalarippayat, Thekkan Sampradayam, initiiert werden.

Voraussetzung für die Teilnahme ist der vorangehende Abschluss des 60h Kalari Practitioner Trainings sowie eine aktive Kalari Praxis. Die Einzelfallentscheidung über das Vorliegen der Zulässigkeitsvoraussetzung liegt bei Kalari.org:

Das Curriculum:

  • 6 x 7 days
  • 200h Training
  • Cheruthozil: Die wichtigsten Aufwärmübungen
  • Groundwork: Der Zyklus der wichtigsten Bodenübungen
  • Kalari Yoga Vanakkam (Der Sonnengruß der Kalari Tradition)
  • Vadivu: Die Tierstellungen
  • Kalugal: Die wichtigsten Fußschwünge
  • Meithozhil: Puthara & Kalari Vandanam
  • Meithozhil: Meippayat – Arapukai I-III
  • Meithozhil: Kaikuttippayat – Pilaitangi I-II
  • Kolthari: Longstick I teacher side
  • Kolthari: Shortstick I
  • Vaitari: Methodik des verbalen Unterrichtens
  • Skalieren: Lerne Meithozhil und Vadivu sicher an individuelle Level anzupassen
  • Einführung in Thekkan Sampradayam (Südlicher Stil des Kalarippayat)
  • Phychophysische Prinzipien des Kalarippayat
  • Geschichte des Kalarippayat
  • Kalari.org Teacher Listing
  • Einschließlich Personal Coaching mit einem zertifizierten Kalari.org Lehrer bis zu 6 Monate nach deiner Zertifizierung

>> mehr

Personal Training

Würdest du nicht auch gern des Leben in seiner ganzen Fülle erfahren, präsent und mit einem Grundgefühl von Entscheidung und Freiheit in jedem Moment? Kalari one-on-one oder in einer Kleingruppe ist eine starke Erfahrung. Dieses Training ist perfekt für Individualisten, Gruppen oder Firmen, die Kalari als kraftvolles Werkzeug dafür begreifen, ihr Leben, ihren Führungsstil oder ihre Kreativität auf den nächsten Level zu bringen. Dies sind hochindividuelle Sessions, aufmerksam zugeschnitten auf deine persönlichen Ziele und mit der Zielsetzung dein ganz eigenes psychophysisches Potential zu aktivieren. Wichtig in diesem Prozess bist du, wir verstehen uns als Reiseführer. Unsere Sessions sind stets beeinflusst von unserer eigene Erfahrung als Kalari Schüler und auch unserer eigenen professionellen Vergangenheit in der Medienindustrie, die ein tiefes Verständnis für berufliche Anforderungen mit sich bringt. 

Die Liste unserer Kunden umfasst heute Privatiers und Berufstätige aus allen Branchen. Kontaktiere uns, um dich allein oder in einer Gruppe von 2 oder mehr Gleichgesinnten auf eine transformative Reise zu machen. Wir werden dir dabei helfen, das bestmögliche Setup für dein bzw. euer Training herauszufinden.

>> mehr

Trainingstermine

12.01. – 14.01.2018 | Practitioner Training Module VI at Human Posture (Pronstorf, Northern Germany) with Kai

26.01. – 28.01.2018 | Practitioner Training Module V at YogaOne (Barcelona, Spain) with Kai

16.02. – 18.02.2018 | Practitioner Training Module VI at YogaOne (Barcelona, Spain) with Kai

16.03. – 18.03.2018 | Kalari.org Beginners Weekend Intensive at TBD (Barcelona, Spain) with Kai

13.04. – 15.04.2018 | Kalari.org Beginners Weekend Retreat in at Center of Gravity (Hamburg, Germany) with Kai 

27.04. – 29.04.2018 | Kalari.org Beginners Weekend Retreat at Fundació La Plana (Barcelona, Spain) with Kai and Deva

05.05.2018 from 10.45 – 12.15am | Kalari Class at the Yogi Days (Hamburg, Germany) with Deva and Kai

26.05. – 28.05.2018 | Kalari classes at Ljubljana Yoga Conference (Ljubljana, Slowenia) with Kai

07.06. – 10.06.2018 | Kalari.org classes at Agni Spirit Festival Sessions (Barcelona) with Kai, Deva, Malwina and Ezequiel

22.07. – 29.07.2018 | Kalari.org Summer Retreat at Fundació La Plana (Barcelona, Spain) with Kai and Deva

24.09. – 30.09.2018 | Kalari Beginners Intensive at Moksha (Chicago, IL, USA) with Kai

12.10. – 14.10.2018 | Kalari Sessions at Global Yoga Conference (Barcelona, Spain) with Kai

19.10. – 21.10.2018 | Introductory Workshop at Yoga Vidya (Bad Meinberg, Germany)

25.12.2018 – 25.01.2019 | Kalari.org India Retreat at the Kerala Kalarippayat Academy (Kerala, India)

Termine für 2019 folgen in Kürze.

 

„Ich fühle absoluten Respekt für die Kalari Praxis. Sie ist eine inspirierende Form der Selbstentwicklung: Spirituell, mental und physisch wird die eigene Stärke auf allen Ebenen erweckt, das Kriegerbewusstsein entwickelt. Kai ist ein herausragender Lehrer, der Kalari gemäß der Tradition weitergibt und diese uralte Praxis rund um die Welt bekannt macht. Danke Kai, Jai Kalari!“

Jordi Canela Viscarrues (Om Ram) Co-founder, YogaOne

 

„Ich halte mich selbst für sportlich, mache Yoga, Pilates, CrossFit, spiele Tennis und liebe es zu schwimmen und zu laufen, aber nichts ist vergleichbar mit der Trainingsintensität des Kalaris. Dort wo all deine Sinne erwachen und Geist und Körper fokussiert sind in Bewegung, Fluss und Energie, das ist Kalari. Ich kann jeden nur ermutigen, es einmal zu probieren. Egal ob du denkst, dass du unkoordiniert bist, du wirst erstaunt sein, was du mit Kalari in dir entdeckst.“

Haneen Alrayes Founder and CEO, HIVE

 

„Ich mache Sport seit meinem sechstem Lebensjahr. Und ich habe einiges gemacht, zum Beispiel Tennis, Ice Hockey, Fussball, Golf und auch Tae Kwon Do. Was mir bei all diesen Aktivitäten fehlte, war die Einbeziehung des Geistes. Kai Hitzer gab mir im Rahmen einer Personal Training Session die Möglichkeit, Kalari auszuprobieren. Es war eine unglaubliche Erfahrung, und sie hat mich seitdem nicht mehr los gelassen. Die Verbindung von Körper und Geist ist einzigartig, und ich kann, ohne ein zweites mal darüber nachzudenken, Kalari jedem nur empfehlen. Danke Kai!“

Pete David Managing Director, PDavid Consulting

 

„Ich hatte die Ehre zwei Stunden mit Kai zu üben und bin begeistert. Vielen Dank und bis ganz bald, Kai! Freue mich auf weitere Unterrichtsstunden.“

Mathis Landwehr Actor, Producer and Martial Artist, Mathis Landwehr

 

„Mit Kai zu arbeiten ist inspirierend sowohl als seine Schülerin als auch als Geschäftspartnerin. Seine unterstützende Art zu unterrichten gibt mir immer die richtige Einstellung und Motivation zum weiter machen. Schon die kurze Zeit, in der ich Kalari praktiziere, hat die Art, wie ich meinen Körper und meinen Geist wahrnehme, verändert. Insbesondere dieser Aspekt hatte eine riesige Auswirkung darauf, wie ich mit meiner chronischen Erkrankung, Multiple Sklerose, umgehe. Ich bin absolut davon überzeug, dass Kalari dich stark macht auf eine tiefe und nachhaltige Weise.“

Sabine Marina Co-Founder and Managing Director, Paperkite Pictures

 

„Die wunderschöne Kunst des Kalari ist eine tiefe und kraftvolle Praxis mit einem uralten Glanz. Ich bin unglaublich dankbar für die Gelegenheit mit einem so herausragenden und leidenschatlich dieser Kunst verschriebenen Lehrer wie Kai Hitzer trainiert zu haben. Diese Praxis würde ich jedem empfehlen, der Yoga und oder Kampfkunst liebt.“

Keri Lassalle
Schriftstellerin und Entrepreneur, Sacred Jewels

 

Jai Surgrim Kalari Testimonial   „I really enjoyed practicing Kalari with Kai Hitzer. Kai is a great communicator, sharing generously, what he has learned from his own practice and from his teachers in India. From the instant we met I could sense his mastery of polarity, and his congruence with the subtle energetics of masculine & feminine. He embodies “Positive Masculinity,” where one lives unabashedly as a Man, while honoring and upholding the feminine within themselves and others.  Kai holds the space for each student to have their own inner experience, by teaching them how to use their physical bodies as a vehicle for self-awareness.“ Jai Sugrim C.S.C.S, L.M.T, J.Y.T Yoga Teacher and Author, Body Mind Mastery  
Jan Oliver Dahl Kalari Testimonial   „As professional business coach and trainer, I am continuesly looking for new methods of empowerment for my clients. My research eventually lead me to a passage on Kalari.org which explicetely talked about Kalari’s potential for personal growth and training professionals, and the consecutive personal training session with Kai did not fail to deliver. I have eversince incorporated the practice in my own life and also successfully collaborated with Kalari.org for several teambuilding and coaching projects.“ Jan Oliver Dahl HR Interim Manager, Business Coach, Dahl & Friends

Kalari.org

When the Body becomes all Eyes

Learn More

Kalari Beginners Weekend Retreat

July 7th – 9th
Human Posture

A small group introduction to Northern Style Kalarippayat with Kai Hitzer in Northern Germany.

Learn More

Kalari Fundamentals Summer Intensive

August 14th – 20th
YogaOne Barcelona

The opportunity to kickstart your practice. Join Kai Hitzer for a week of Kerala style immersion into the practice, and secure a discount by combining with the 60h Practitioner Training in Barcelona!

Learn More

Locations

Days

Slots

Hours

Kalari.org 60h Practitioner Training

Become one of the first certified Kalarippayat Practitioners and a true ambassador of the practice.

Learn More

INTO THE PIT | The word “Kalari” means “space” or “arena” in Malayalam, the indigenous language of Kerala. Northern Style Kalaris are palm leaf covered pits and they have been dug into the red earth of Southern India since times immemorial. 42 by 21 feet and built in strict east-west-alignment, the entrance three and a half stairs down from the east, they sing an ancient hynm to Kundalini – that which “resides in the pit”.

THE KALARI WAY | Kalarippayat was once a way of life, called “Kalari Mura”. Every 6-8 year old child, boy or girl, would be initiated during the annual monsoon season, regardless of sex, caste or religion. This ancient tradition continued until Kalarippayat was banned by the British in 1793. Much was lost during the British Raj, but the art continued to be practiced in secrecy by Gurukkals who defied the British ban.

INDIA’s GIFT TO THE WORLD | These revivalists have ensured the art’s survival, and Kalarippayat has started to retake its place as part of the rekindled southern indian national identity. The art is once again practiced all over Kerala and even beyond. Today, Kalarippayat receives wider recognition and attention outside of its native southern indian habitat, slowly but gradually taking its rightful place among its sister sciences Ayurveda and Yoga as one of India’s great gifts to the world.

PRIMAL MOVEMENT | Kalari stresses the practice of archetypical movement principles and primal whole body movement over the repetitive practice of isolated techniques. These are movements that we can instinctively relied upon in times when fear- or stress-induced surges of adrenalin make a trained response all but impossible. Kalari grandmasters have described this process as “training the reptile brain”.

TENDON STRENGTH | The Kalari practice exposes the practitioner to a very unique and versatile training regime. Intensity is imperative in Kalarippayat. However, the practice scales after the practitioner and not the other way around. Physically, the practice promotes and stresses tendon strength over muscle strength. The body created is lean, strong and does not deteriorate as quickly with old age.

SENSORY AWARENESS | The concept of primal whole body movement and tendon strength goes hand in hand with a strong evolution of the senses. Kalari practitioners are taught to expand their sensory awareness. This starts with the gross physical senses, especially sight and hearing, but eventually transcends into the realm of prana or life force. The experienced Abhyassi will eventually start to sense the flow of energy, first within his own body and later in the world around him.

WAY OF THE WARRIOR | Kalari was created as an art of war and healing. It is crucial to acknowledge these roots to understand why the practice is so immeasurably valuable for us today: It was created for people whose responsibility was to take care of and engage with the people and world around them. At the same time it completes the ancient trinity of mysticism (e.g. yoga), healing (e.g. ayurveda) and martial art.

Art of Living | Kalari can teach us how to live. It teaches us how to encounter each moment with open eyes, posture and tenacity. This makes Kalari the perfect foundation for a self-determined and healthy life in the modern world. For this reason Kalari is also gradually becoming one of the preferred tools of personal growth and development for privateers, athletes and professionals of all backgrounds.

Personal Growth | The practice provides a unique phsychophysical framework. It enables the practitioner to physically experience real life encounters, e.g. confrontation with a colleague at work, and learn how to (re-) act adequately. This could mean anything from standing our ground to simply detaching and fully stepping into the moment. The decision is ours and not influenced by external factors or uncontrolled impulse. The result is true self-empowerment and freedom.

Find Your Training

Kalari.org offers a variety of courses and trainings, both online and residential. Our range includes online classes, workshops and retreats for beginners, as well as trainings for aspiring practitioners and teachers and highly individual personal or group training.

Learn More

Training Types

The section below provides a quick overview over trainings offered by Kalari.org. Please note that no workshops can be booked on our page, but on the respective studio’s page for the given training that can be found in training dates section further below.

Kalari.ORG 5-week online course

The Kalari.org 5-week online course serves as a risk-free and flexible introduction to the practice of Kalarippayat. Set your own pace and work through 5 comprehensive lessons which will introduce you to the main principles and some of the key exercises of the practice:

  • Cheruthozil: Small set of basic warm-ups
  • Groundwork: Small set of basic ground exercises
  • Vadivu: Horse Posture (moved and static)
  • Kalugal: Nere Kal (Straight Leg Swing)
  • Rhythm and flow of the practice

>> learn more

Workshops

Workshops are residential courses with a duration of 1-3 days.

Prerequisites vary depending on topic and will be clearly stated in the description. Workshops for beginners like the Introductory Weekend Workshop require no prerequisites.

>> check for dates

Retreats

Retreats are residential courses with a duration of 3-10+ days and will usually take you to serene and beautiful locations perfect for deep immersion like Human Posture in Northern Germany or Solhälla in Sweden.

Prerequisite for participation varies and will be stated in the individual retreat description. The regular Beginners Weekend Retreat has no prerequisites, but previous participation in the 5-week Online Course is a perfect primer for the retreat.

>> check for dates

Kalari.ORG 60h Practitioner Training

The Kalari.org 60h Practitioner Training primarily serves to create a rock-solid self practice, making you a true Abhyassi and eligible for participation in all upcoming classes, workshops and intensives. It also serve as a stairway to becoming one of the first Kalari Lvl I Teachers in the future.

Prerequisite for participation is the previous participation in at least one the following workshops or trainings or the equivalent, eligibility assessed by Kalari.org:

  • Kalari.org 5-Week Online Course
  • Kalari Introductory Workshop
  • Kalari Beginner’s Weekend Retreat

The curriculum will take you through the all the basics needed to become a full fledged Kalari Abhyassi:

  • Cheruthozil: Basic warm-ups
  • Vadivu: Basic postures
  • Kalugal: Basic leg swings
  • Meithozhil: Puthara & Kalari Vandanam
  • Meithozhil: Meippayat – Arapukai I
  • Meithozhil: Kaikuttippayat – Pilaitangi I
  • Kolthari: Longstick I
  • Brief History of Kalarippayat
  • Basic phychophysical principles

>> learn more

Kalari.org 200h Teacher Lvl I Training

The first Kalari.org 200h Teacher Lvl I Training is going to start in 2018 in two locations: The Kalari.org headquarters at Human Posture in Germany and YogaOne in Barcelona. The teacher training will be a transformative journey of 12 months that will ultimately make you one of the first certified teachers of the ancient art of Kalarippayat in the west.

…but before this happens, your physical technique and stamina will be taken to your individual limit to break the bonds of the mind and unleash true movement. You will learn new body forms as well as weapons forms, including the teacher sides of the first long- and shortstick form. We will then transcend physical technique and go into oral teaching, body scanning, scaling and adjustment techniques. The fundamentals of the Nadi-Marma System will be covered. As required by Kalari.org tradition you will look beyond Northern Style and will get initiated into the first exercises of Southern Style Kalarippayat, also known als Thekkan Sampradayam.

Prerequisite for participation is the successful completion of the 60h Kalari Practitioner Training and an active Kalari Practice, eligibility assessed by Kalari.org:

The curriculum:

  • 6 x 7 days
  • 200h of training
  • Cheruthozil: Core warm-ups
  • Groundwork: Core cycle
  • Kalari Yoga Vanakkam variations (Sun Salutation of the Kalari Tradition)
  • Vadivu: Core postures
  • Kalugal: Core leg swings
  • Meithozhil: Puthara & Kalari Vandanam
  • Meithozhil: Meippayat – Arapukai I-III
  • Meithozhil: Kaikuttippayat – Pilaitangi I-II
  • Kolthari: Longstick I teacher side
  • Kolthari: Shortstick I
  • Vaitari: Methodology of oral teaching
  • Scaling: Learn how to safely adjust Meithozhil and Vadivu to individual levels
  • Introduction to Thekkan Sampradayam (Southern Style Kalarippayat)
  • Phychophysical principles
  • History of Kalarippayat
  • Kalari.org teacher listing
  • Free personal check in with kalari.org for coaching up to 6 months after certification

>> learn more

Personal Training

Wouldn’t you want to live and experience life fully, present and with a sense of true choice and freedom? Kalari one-on-one or in a small group setting is a powerful experience. This training is perfect for individuals, groups or companies, who see Kalari as a powerful tool to take their life, leadership or creativity to the next level. These are bespoke sessions, carefully tailored to your individual needs and targeted to support your self in unlocking your very own phycophysical potential. We are just a tour guide. Our sessions will be infused with our experience of an authentic student-teacher-relationship, as well as a background of over 10 years of working on director level in the media industry. 

Today Kalari.org’s clients include privateers and professionals of all backgrounds. Reach out today and embark on a transformative journey alone or as a group of 2 or more. We will help you to find out what the best possible set up could look like.

>> learn more

Training Dates

23.06. – 25.06.2017 | Practitioner Training Module II at Human Posture (Pronstorf, Northern Germany)

07.07. – 09.07.2017 | Kalari Beginners Weekend Retreat at Human Posture (Pronstorf, Northern Germany)

21.07. – 23.07.2017 | Practitioner Training Module III at Human Posture (Pronstorf, Northern Germany)

14.08. – 20.08.2017 | Fundamentals Summer Intensive at YogaOne (Barcelona, Spain)

01.09. – 03.09.2017 | Practitioner Training Module I at YogaOne (Barcelona, Spain)

08.09. – 10.09.2017 | Introductory Workshop at Yoga Vidya (Bad Meinberg, Germany)

15.09. – 17.09.2017 | Introductory Workshop at Solhälla (Hällungen, Sweden)

22.09. – 24.09.2017 | Practitioner Training Module IV at Human Posture (Pronstorf, Northern Germany)

29.09. – 01.10.2017 | Beginners Weekend Retreat at Human Posture (Pronstorf, Northern Germany)

06.10. – 08.10.2017 | Practitioner Training Module II at YogaOne (Barcelona, Spain)

03.11. – 05.11.2017 | Practitioner Training Module III at YogaOne (Barcelona, Spain)

17.11. – 19.11.2017 | Practitioner Training Module V at Human Posture (Pronstorf, Northern Germany)

01.12. – 03.12.2017 | Practitioner Training Module IV at YogaOne (Barcelona, Spain)

15.12. – 17.12.2017 | Open Weekend Retreat at Human Posture (Pronstorf, Germany)

27.12. – 10.01.2018 | Kalari.org India Retreat at the Kerala Kalarippayat Academy (Kerala, India)

27.12. – 10.01.2018 | Kalari.org India Retreat at the Kerala Kalarippayat Academy (Kerala, India)

12.01. – 14.01.2018 | Practitioner Training Module VI at Human Posture (Pronstorf, Northern Germany)

26.01. – 28.01.2018 | Practitioner Training Module V at YogaOne (Barcelona, Spain)

16.02. – 18.02.2018 | Practitioner Training Module VI at YogaOne (Barcelona, Spain)

22.02. – 28.02.2018 | Kalari.org at the Human Posture Festival at Human Posture (Pronstorf, Germany)

04.05. – 06.05.2018 | Introductory Workshop at Solhälla (Hällungen, Sweden)

02.07. – 08.07.2018 | Practitioner Intensive (Module I-III) at Solhälla (Hällungen, Sweden)

06.09. – 12.09.2018 | Kalari.org at the Human Posture Festival at Human Posture (Pronstorf, Germany)

The dates for 2019 will be published soon.

“I feel absolute respect for the Kalari practice. It is an inspiring form of self development: Spiritually, mentally and physically awakening strength on all levels, developing the warrior consciousness. Kai is an extraordinary teacher who transmits Kalari according the tradition and makes this ancient practice known around the world. Thank you Kai, Jai Kalari!”

Jordi Canela Viscarrues (Om Ram)
Co-founder, YogaOne

 

“I consider myself an athletic person, I do yoga, pilates, cross fit training, play tennis and love to run and swim, but nothing compares to the training intensity of Kalari. Where all your senses are awakened and the mind and body both concentrated on the movement, flow and energy that is Kalari.  I encourage everyone to try it, no matter if you think your not coordinated, you would be surprised at what you discover within yourself with Kalari.”

Haneen Alrayes
Founder and CEO, HIVE

 

“I’ve been practicing sports since I was 6 years old. And I’ve done a lot, like tennis, ice hockey, football, golf and also taekwondo. What I missed was the inclusion of mind in my sporting activities. Kai Hitzer gave me the opportunity to try Kalari during a personal training session. It was an incredible experience and it hasn’t left me ever since. The connection of body and mind is very unique and I can, without a second thought, recommend Kalari to everyone.Thanks Kai!”

Pete David
Managing Director, PDavid Consulting

 

“I had the honor of practicing with Kai for two hours, and I am really psyched. Thanks a lot and see you very soon, Kai! I am looking forward to more lessons in the future.”

Mathis Landwehr
Actor, Producer and Martial Artist, Mathis Landwehr

 

“Working with Kai both as his student and as a business partner is inspiring! His supportive way of teaching always gives me the right spirit and motivation to move on. Even the short time I practice Kalari yet changed the way I recognize my body and mind. Especially that has made a huge difference in dealing with my chronic illness multiple sclerosis. I’m absolutely positive that Kalari makes you strong in a really deep and ongoing way.”

Sabine Marina
Co-Founder and Managing Director, Paperkite Pictures